Too Good To Be True

I’ve started thinking these past few days about things that are too good to be true. I used to think that this meant that the thing or person I deemed as too good to be true disappointed me but now I see it differently. I realize that I placed unrealistic expectations on the event, person or thing to make me happy beyond my wildest dreams. This was very disempowering because I placed the responsibility of my happiness to something external which I cannot control. How silly and limiting this is! I found that as long as I focused on upholding my highest values and not what I thought made me happy, I caused myself true, consistent happiness no matter what my external situation was. I had a very real experience of this when this summer I started a job I considered my dream job. I had created this job in my head a few months back. This dream job consisted of:

1. Full time pay for part-time work- 4 hours/day – my ideal since I’m a fan of Tim Ferris’s classic book “The 4 Hour Work Week”.

2. Selling MIUSA clothes to high net worth individuals. The selling was the most important feature of my dream job as I love selling.

3. Spending most of my time networking at parties and cocktails

4. All my meals, networking and travel expenses paid for by my company

I was overjoyed and excited when a few months after conjuring up this dream job, it came to fruition! At first I was beyond excited and really enjoyed the job. Eventually, I found that although I enjoyed the job, the part most important to me was missing and I started to feel happy but not content with my new job. I had been so busy concocting all the features I wanted in my dream job that I forgot to focus on the highest value I wanted to fulfill in my dream job: selling. I love selling, I enjoy enrolling others into ideas, products and services I find valuable and that I think will help them. When I realized that my only function was to book appointments but not sell, I started to feel very dissatisfied.

My dissatisfaction was not my company’s fault. It was my own for focusing more on the perks of the job than of the most important function of the job to me. To put it succintly: I focused more on the sizzle than the steak. It was a valuable lesson as it reminded me to always uphold my highest values over perks or things that sizzle.

This got me thinking about how in some cases the MIUSA label may be too good to be true. There are companies that label their clothes that say “Made in USA of imported material” or they stress how they are putting Americans back to work but what do they mean? Does “imported material” mean child slaves in a foreign country created the fabric which the item was made? Are Americans making the clothes and working in humane conditions? Or are they working in sweatshops? I don’t know the answers to these questions my only hope is that these companies are not too good to be true. I will need to do more research to find out so I can uphold my highest value in buying MIUSA clothes: supporting humanity and American workers.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

