Update to Made In USA Hall of Shame

Hi everyone, I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I certainly did when I wandered into Macy’s at the Aventura Mall in Aventura, Florida and found racks and racks of gorgeous Made In USA (MIUSA) clothes!! This was the first time I saw MIUSA clothes in Macy’s since 1991, to me, it seemed like a miracle! It also made it clear to me how powerful us consumers are. Over the past year, I have walked into many department stores including Macy’s inquiring about the lack of MIUSA clothing, and even included them in my Made In USA Hall of Shame, my list of companies that sell no Made In USA clothing. All that looks like it has changed, perhaps hundreds or even thousands of my peers across the country or at least Florida were doing the same thing?

I look at the inclusion of MIUSA clothing in Macy’s (finally!!) as a small victory, one of many I hope for the Made In USA movement. This triumph reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from Margaret Mead: “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has”.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Update to Made In USA Hall of Shame”

  1. clothingmadeinusablog Says:

    The only racks and racks of American clothes I found at Macy’s was in Kauai.

  2. madeinusafan Says:

    Hi clothingmadeinusablog, thanks for your comment. I can’t speak for Macy’s in other states but here in Aventura, Florida, the Macy’s here was packed with Made In USA clothes. Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

